The Happiness Inquiry

A teacher's quest to cultivate happy habits in her students

2: Birdies

4 Comments

Little fat birdies–city birds, really–have always been a tremendous source of joy for me. I’m fascinated by their behaviors–the hopping about, the occasional fluttering of wings from ground-level, the head cocking from one side to the next as they examine a potential morsel, and of course, the way they scatter when you come anywhere near them is always amusing.  Today was a great one for me, bird-wise, so I am dedicating my second gratitude entry to birds of all species, since years of watching them has been undeniable happy-making. 🙂

Out and about this afternoon, we saw not one but TWO families of ducklings–talk about luck! And for the first time in person (why did it take so long?), I spotted a black capped chickadee in the forest. While hanging out by the water, a little brown bird settled quite near to us and let me observe him for awhile, which I certainly appreciated. Then, the bird-watching culminated with the sweeping performance of several swallows diving for their food at dusk over the canal next to our dinner table.  

A neat thing about Aarhus? In a single Sunday you can walk from the city center, to forest, park, a pit stop by the beach, and then head back to the city center for pizza by the canal. Sure, it was over 9 miles, but lovely and relaxing the whole way. And everywhere you went–nature!

 Look real closely and you’ll see them!

Image

Beach…complete with freeeeezing water. However, I did find some really need rocks and shells (for some lucky students). I may be back for a swim if the air temperature can find its way into the 70s or higher..
Image

A well-deserved pizza after 9 miles of walking. 

Image

Documentary Update: Tomorrow I will venture out into the great city of Aarhus and seek my first interviewees for the Happiness Inquiry documentary. I’m hoping a local cafe owner will let me set up shop outside and solicit passers-by, since they may go over a bit better than approaching people in the middle of the sidewalk.  

Author: henrykat

I am a middle school special education teacher in Chicago. I was fortunate enough to receive a Fund for Teachers grant that allows me to spend a month in Denmark, considered to be the happiest place on earth. I hope to use my experience to inspire my students to make choices that will increase their personal sense of well being.

4 thoughts on “2: Birdies

  1. Wow Kat that sounds really cool! That pizza looked delicouse!

  2. It looks like you are having a lot of fun since the smile of your face. Did the pizza taste good better than Chicago’s pizza?

  3. Great question—Nope, Chicago pizza is WAY better than the pizza here. There are pizza places everywhere but not one of them compares with what we’ve got back home. Consider yourself a lucky girl!

Leave a Reply

