The Happiness Inquiry

A teacher's quest to cultivate happy habits in her students

3: Yoga

6 Comments

I went to my first yoga class abroad today, and also my first 100 minute+ class. While the poses were virtually the same, it was definitely a different style of instruction than I’m used to back home. Even though I’ve been practicing regularly (2-3 times per week) for the past two years, it was an interesting experience to be out of my comfort zone due to not being at my home studio. One major difference was the quantity of time spent in meditation–maybe 20 minutes or so of breathing in seated position at the end. The directives were also a bit more concrete and offered fewer modifications, which in end meant that I pushed myself a bit farther. By the end, I had definitely enjoyed a full mind and body work out. I’ve generally been feeling so appreciative lately of yoga and how good it makes me feel. I’ve included a poll below, asking what your favorite physical activity is. 🙂

And since pictures are worth a thousand words, below is a picture I took on my walk home from the class this evening, passing through a two-tiered bike lot situated near the train station. A friendly fella explained that it’s typical for Aarhusians (just go with it) to leave their bikes there on their way out of town for the weekend, etc. It was so neat to see thousands of bikes, all lined up like that. This town definitely seems to be into biking, and I can only hope Chicago moves more in that direction as time goes on. I think we’re at least on the right path!

Image

 

Author: henrykat

I am a middle school special education teacher in Chicago. I was fortunate enough to receive a Fund for Teachers grant that allows me to spend a month in Denmark, considered to be the happiest place on earth. I hope to use my experience to inspire my students to make choices that will increase their personal sense of well being.

6 thoughts on “3: Yoga

  1. Hey Kat I have a question, is it hot there?

    • Not at all! So far it’s been in the 60s each day and then at night it drops down to the low 50s–great sleeping weather! I am looking forward to this weekend, when it’ll get into the 70s for the first time. We’re going on a long bide ride that day! Did Milwaukee finally warm up (so your mom is happy)?

  2. I understand they have a free bike sharing program there? Put a coin in a slot to get a bike and then when you return the bike, you get the coin back. Hopefully this type of bike sharing program will come to the U.S. Seems like it should be a free service here too (maintenance costs covered by the city) instead of paying for it…Would have a positive effect on our health (and therefore saving money in health care costs), reduce air pollution (also reducing poor air quality health issues) and so on….

    • Yup, they do have a free program, although I will say that compared to Divvy in Chicago, it doesn’t seem quite as nice. The bikes are harder to track down and in many cases we’ve seen only a single bike available, so we couldn’t both grab one. I agree with you though that these things serve the greater good and ought to be free! So many systems in the U.S. are privatized or becoming that way (e.g. our schools–charters are primarily funded by businesses).

  3. Did you went bike riding Ms. Henry? Also was it fun riding?

Leave a Reply

