The Happiness Inquiry

A teacher's quest to cultivate happy habits in her students

6: Long Walks

6 Comments

Today I give gratitude for nice, long, relaxing walks. It seems like I never allow myself the time for it back at home and it’s become a luxury I am very appreciative of here in Aarhus. I think I should do more walking when I get back home instead of always biking everywhere to save time.

Below are some pretty random photos of what I’ve seen while walking. For an added twist, see you if you can guess which one in the bunch was NOT taken in Aarhus, rather in sweet home, Chicago. Enjoy and happy guessing! 🙂

 

The Aarhus River

The Aarhus River

My interpretation of this statue? The thinking man is now deriving his ideas from the media. what do YOU think?

My interpretation of this statue? The thinking man is now deriving his ideas from the media. what do YOU think?

A fine day at the beach!

A fine day at the beach!

I just like this building.

I just like this building.

Talk to each other and put the phone away! I love it.

Talk to each other and put the phone away! I love it.

Kinda gross statue, really.

Kinda gross statue, really.

A mosaic I found tucked back between two residential buildings.

A mosaic I found tucked back between two residential buildings.

They are a bit hedge-trimmer crazy here--they've even taken it to the trees!

They are a bit hedge-trimmer crazy here–they’ve even taken it to the trees!

The North Sea

The North Sea

Author: henrykat

I am a middle school special education teacher in Chicago. I was fortunate enough to receive a Fund for Teachers grant that allows me to spend a month in Denmark, considered to be the happiest place on earth. I hope to use my experience to inspire my students to make choices that will increase their personal sense of well being.

6 thoughts on “6: Long Walks

  1. Great pictures! I want to walk in that park with the awesome trees-looks so peaceful there. :O) Thanks to dog sitting Roscoe while you are gone, I have discovered early morning walks (6 AM or so) are amazing. There is nobody out yet and you can really enjoy the sounds and sights of the birds, squirrels and rabbits that are so playful in the early hours…

  2. That’s excellent, Mom! Waking up early has unfortunately NOT been my forte while we’ve been here, but I have definitely can relate from past experiences! Maybe one morning you can walk down to Lake Michigan and catch the sunrise with Scoe–but maybe wait a few more weeks so it’s not happening quite as early. 😉

  3. Is the 5th photo the one taken in Chicago?

  4. Is the one about the beach taken in Chicago? Also I think the statue of the men, I think he is thinking. I agree with you about the pigs…. it is gross.

  5. You got it Andrea! The beach with all the people is Chicago all the way. What do you think he’s thinking about? Isn’t it interesting how he’s perched on top of a television? Hmm…

Leave a Reply

